Wednesday, 6 March 2013


Counter-magnet towns are identified as those that can be developed as alternative centres of growth and attract migrants to them rather than Delhi. Promoting growth of counter magnet towns are the principal components of the strategy to reduce both migration and population explosion in the Delhi metropolitan area.
These towns are located in six states- Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh and Punjab, in addition to Uttar Pradesh, Haryana and Rajasthan, which are already part of the national capital region.
The criterion for selecting counter magnet towns are that they should not be within approximately. 250 km. from Delhi, should have their own established roots and potential of growth and should not be centres of either religious, strategic or environmental importance.
These are:-
Initial list
Later additions



  1. Thank you. Ma'am could you post your opinion about the new pattren?