Thursday, 6 September 2012

The Elders

The Elders is an independent group of global leaders who work together for peace and human rights. They were brought together in 2007 by Nelson Mandela, who is not an active member of the group but remains an Honorary Elder. 

The Elders:

  • Desmond Tutu [chairperson of The Elders]
  • Marti Ahtisaari [Former President of Finland; expert in international peace mediation, diplomacy and post-conflict state-building. He was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2008 for efforts to end conflict over 3 decades across the world]
  • Kofi Annan
  • Ela Bhatt [founded SEWA- Self-employed Womens Association, 
  • Lakhdar Brahimi [former Algerian Freedom-fighter, conflict mediator and UN diplomat. Brahimi has been appointed by UN to replace Kofi Annan as Syrian peace envoy]
  • Gro Brundtland [First woman PM of Norway, put sustainable development on global agenda- the definition of 'sustainable development' was given by the Brundtland Commission in 1989ish, which she chaired]
  • Jimmy Carter
  • Fernando Cardoso  [Former President of Brazil; implemented major land reforms programme; reduced poverty and imporved health and education in Brazil]
  • Graca Machel [Advocate for womens and childrens rights]
  • Mary Robinson [First woman President of Ireland; chairperson of UNHCR]

The Burmese pro-democracy leader Aung San Suu Kyi was also an Honorary Elder, until her election to the Burmese parliament in April 2012

No comments:

Post a Comment