Tuesday, 25 September 2012

World Chess Champioship Formats and Vishwanathan Anand

World Chess Championsip Formats:
1. Tournament chess: chess tournament is a series of chess games played competitively to determine a winning individual or team. Since the first international chess tournament inLondon, 1851, chess tournaments have become the standard form of chess competition among serious players.
2. Match  chess: A competition between two individuals or two teams. A match may be the entire competition, or it may be a round in a knockout tournament or team tournament. Unlike in some sports where the word match is sometimes used to describe a single game, a chess match always consists of at least two games (and often many more).
3. Rapid chess: Fast chess, also known as blitz chesslightning chesssudden deathspeed chessbullet chess and rapid chess, is a type of chess game in which each side is given less time to make their moves than under the normal tournament time controls of 60 to 180 minutes per player.
4. Knockout Chess: single-elimination tournament, also called a knockoutcup or sudden death tournament, is a type of elimination tournament where the loser of each match or bracket is immediately eliminated from winning the championship or first prize in the event.

Anand is the only player to have won the world chess championships in many formats including TournamentMatchRapid, and Knockout chess. 

In 2012, Anand won his fourth World Chess Championship. Previous wins were in 2007, 2008, and 2010.

Anand became India's first grandmaster in 1987.[4] He was also the first recipient of the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 1991–92, India's highest sporting honor. In 2007, he was awarded India's second highest civilian award, the Padma Vibhushan, making him the first sportsperson to receive the award in Indian history. Anand has won the Chess Oscar 6 times

No comments:

Post a Comment